Mary Allen • February 26 2019

2018 Year in Review: Nourishing the world sustainably

GFI harnesses the power of food innovation and markets to accelerate the global transition to plant-based and cell-based meat, eggs, and dairy. Crack open our 2018 Year in Review to see what we’ve been up to!

GFI works to create a sustainable, healthy, and just food system. We harness the power of food innovation and markets to accelerate the transition of the global food system to plant-based and cell-based meat, eggs, and dairy.

Crack open our 2018 Year in Review to see what we’ve been up to!

With the incredible support of our donors, 2018 was monumental. The plant-based and cell-based meat industries have seen phenomenal progress in recent months, and we’re honored to help build the momentum.

From Capitol Hill to Y Combinator, GFI brought good food innovation to the fore. We launched a Sustainable Seafood Initiative and helped big food companies diversify beyond conventional animal products. Scientists, innovators, investors, and industry incumbents gathered to envision a better food future at the inaugural Good Food Conference. It has been a whirlwind.

Our global food system has no shortage of challenges. But this visionary community has solutions.

Related articles

Ryan Huling • May 2021

WHO and GFI Convene Historic Workshop to Discuss Global Regulations for Alternative Proteins

read
Erin Rees Clayton, Ph.D. • February 2021

How pulses are powering global alt protein innovation

read
Susan Halteman , Victoria Wheeler • December 2020

GFI’s top 20 moments for alternative proteins in 2020

read
Ryan Huling • December 2020

BREAKING: World’s first approval of cultivated meat sales

read
Liz Specht, Ph.D.Nate Crosser • September 2020

GFI releases first-ever State of the Industry Report on fermentation in alternative proteins

read
Nicole Rocque • August 2020

The India – Netherlands Smart Protein Corridor

read
Shardul Dabir • June 2020

The India Smart Protein Innovation Challenge: Unlocking talent bottlenecks

read
Nate Crosser • May 2020

New GFI State of the Industry Reports show alternative proteins are poised to flourish post-Covid-19

read
Bruce Friedrich • March 2020

The Upshot Of My India Trip

read
Mary Allen • November 2019

How plant-based meat can help heal our soil while feeding more people than ever

read
Ramya Ramamurthy • October 2019

Global Innovators Can Make All the Difference in Emerging Markets

read
Varun Deshpande • September 2019

3 Key Takeaways on India from the Good Food Conference

read
Bruce Friedrich • September 2019

Cultivated meat: Why GFI is embracing new language

read
Ramya Ramamurthy • August 2019

How Goodmylk Founder Abhay Rangan Is Making Plant-Based Waves in the Indian Dairy Market

read
Mary Allen • May 2019

Watch Bruce Friedrich’s TED Talk on plant-based and cell-based meat

read
Ramya Ramamurthy • April 2019

Indian government grants over $600,000 to cell-based meat research

read
Ramya Ramamurthy, Varun Deshpande • March 2019

World’s first cellular agriculture research center, coming to Maharashtra

read
Mary Allen • March 2019

New study highlights plant-based and cultivated meat acceptance in the U.S., China, and India

read
Mary Allen • January 2019

Your 2019 reading list: Plant-based and clean meat essentials

read
Mary Allen • November 2018

Why GFI is taking good food global

read
Varun Deshpande • November 2018

Why India is a priority for plant-based and clean meat innovation

read

Sign up here to receive Smart Protein Insights - a monthly newsletter on our work in India